I’m still working on the communication from the login/create user functions. I added all of the CommDelegate calls for both of the screens, but issues continue to pop up. Unfortunately, no screenshots since all of the work this time was nonvisible (and still not done).

During last week’s meeting, I had talked with Evan about my approach to try to get the response data back from the server, and I left thinking that once I added the reading of the parsed response data into the OWLInstance object, I would be able to quickly clean up the rest of the functionality.

Unfortunately, the curse of network communication still hates me.

After adding all of the CommDelegate calls and placing a bunch of NSLogs around to try to figure out what response I was getting, I was disappointed to find out that it was apparently returning nothing in the OWLInstance object.

I began to step through the code carefully, thinking that there were just some mistaken calls to the wrong parser. After fixing these, it still didn’t work, and after continuing to step through everything I finally realized that the parser itself…didn’t actually save anything. The populate function meant to send all of the parsed data out to the OWL objects didn’t have anything in it.

It took me a while to fix this, beginning by trying to base it off the old parser, before seeing that I could just reuse another part of the new parser as the base. As it turns out, I should have just gone the lazy route and copy/pasted it, but I went and overthought why they were different functions. Oops.

Finally, I had it so that the OWLInstance was retrieving the response from the server correctly. Unfortunately, my original curse of network communication still holds, and I get command errors from the create user communication and errors logging in because I can’t create a user.

The creating of the user was apparently due to the server software being out of date, so after that gets fixed I should be able to get everything working…finally. I’ll just need to set up the checking for the appropriate responses and build in the behaviors for both when the login screen should dismiss itself and getting the login data to write into the user object.

