Although I began today’s work by doing some work on the functionality for the buttons, I decided that I should get the layout itself working first, since in a pinch we can still use the dummy user object, even if the functions are still in-progress. This also means that I won’t have to keep remembering to disable the code every time I commit, since the layout was crashing.

I quickly realized that the login screen would never fit nicely into a horizontal orientation on the iPhone, so I locked the rotation on those devices to just portrait orientations. It can still rotate upside down for those though. For the iPad, I needed to start figuring out how to get it to look good on the bigger screen, which meant doing some resizing work.

I’ve had issues with resizing before, with the multi-cell view, and I had solved it at the time using a whole load of conditionals and hardcoded values. This time, I wrestled with it in a different way, trying to utilize some automatic methods which I hadn’t been able to get working previously. Eventually, I managed to use the autoresizingMask and autoResizesViews properties to get some automatic layout fixes even through rotation. Ironically, it doesn’t really resize that much yet, but it is still much improved to before, as you can see.

I spent a while fiddling with autoresizingMask, testing various restrictions on how the resizing works. I ended up using UIViewAutoresizingFlexibleLeftMargin and UIViewAutoresizingFlexibleRightMargin in conjunction to get an automatic recentering. I played around with the top and bottom margins, because a centering would be nice vertically as well, but it appeared to force each element to space out, which made it look awful.

Some issues remaining are how the version and iPhone link elements are skewed. I’m pretty sure that this is because they are the only elements that didn’t start with a centered location. This means that the subsequent automatic resizing/repositioning is skewing it to match the iPad screen.

I tried to fix the vertical centering by editing the bounds for the view, but the bounds settings appeared to be ignored, no matter how I went about it. As I recall, problems with this were one of the reasons I ended up with such an ugly solution for the multi-view cell. I ended up doing a similar thing here, with a vertical adjustor variable. However, instead of being purely hard-coded, I based it on the center of the view itself, and I definitely want to fix this later. It isn’t a perfect solution, as it is not perfectly centered when rotated, since the adjustor doesn’t actually…adjust automatically. Again, still a work in progress.

Next I need to play around with the actual resizing aspect. I’m thinking of trying for a more square-shaped interface on the iPad, because it would be more like the sheet modal view (though this is a full-screen modal view). Hoping for the same kind of cleanness that sort of view has. I also need to fix that vertical centering.

Finally, after that’s all set up I need to put in the functionality itself. I spent a while thinking about how to do this, and I think it’ll be done in stages, so that it has some sort of pseudo-functionality at each stage until it’s fully working.

For the login fields/button, I’ll start by having it set the singleton user object with the given fields, without any actual server communication. This won’t be a real “login”, but will let the application feel like it is, with the password editable in personal info (username isn’t editable), even though it isn’t persistent. After this will be the actual implementation of the server communication for login, with the associated success and fail cases.

The create user button will be the same, starting with a very similar screen to the personal info screen, where the username, password, and other information can be input. The first version will simply write this to the user object, like before, allowing for the appearance of the full functionality (within a session). The second will have to do the server communication and processing.

I’m not actually sure what the iPhone link thing is supposed to do, functionally, so that’ll be included last.

