The world’s lamest screenshot below! There’s a point…really!

I haven’t updated in a while, been swamped by a bunch of projects and take-home exams. I started out today working on the View Recommendations feature, trying to figure out how it would work and how to go forward. I made the view itself and ended up linking it to the (in-progress) recommendation manager, which I believe will eventually hold all of the recommendation information and will also handle the communications with the server for them. Unfortunately, it doesn’t actually show anything right now since the manager itself is not fully implemented right now.

During the Wine Agent meeting Evan seemed sort of confused about why it was marked as critical (which is why I started working on it) and suggested that I work on the login screen instead. Since I had been thinking of doing that in the first place, only choosing otherwise due to the recommendations view being marked as critical, I immediately switched over. The login screen was the logical next step after the sort of finished personal info page, since that will only have real functionality once the global user object is actually enforced and initialized at the start (if not already logged in).

First was deciding how to implement the login screen, as in where and when it should force the user to login or register as a new user. I began thinking that this would be done as a full-screen modal view that appears upon application startup if the user object is nil. However, I began working on this thinking I would be able to call it from the application startup loop, which failed since it cannot present a modal controller from itself.

I ended up messing up a few more times before finally setting up the user object check in the application startup, and if the user object is nil then it will set the starting tab to the User one. This part will be temporary, since I will eventually want to allow the application to load the tabs exactly the same way as it usually does depending on where the user was last, but for simplicity in implementing the modal popup I did it this way. Once I get it all finalized then I can go through and add the delegate capabilities for presenting and dismissing the modal view to everything, I suppose. Unless it could be any view, which would be painfully tedious and hard to maintain. I’ll need to do some testing on which pages can actually be accessed upon startup.

Anyhow, once I had it defaulted to the single user screen if the user object was nil, I implemented the actual presentation of the login view controller in a modal view. This screen will probably be mostly or completely redone, but you can see what the old login screen used to look like in the screenshot. It crashed for a while due to bad memory accesses, but they were eventually sorted out.

The next step will be figuring out how to reimplement the UI itself so that it fits on all the devices and also functions (it crashes currently whenever I try to hit any of the buttons).

